By Elly Blomberg

When 15-year-old Mirte Admiraal told her friends she would be an exchange student at Waterford Kettering High School, they considered her crazy for going to the U.S., 3931 miles away from home in the Netherlands.

Admiraal enjoys going on adventures and taking risks. The Netherlands have similarities (and differences) from the U.S. For instance, cycling is a cherished part of daily life. 

“School in the Netherlands is harder than in the U.S.,” Admiraal said. “In the Netherlands there is less homework but more tests. Grading is different.  We start at 8:30 a.m. and it depends on when we get out because the schedule changes everyday.”

Admiraal is an active student and likes nature and being outdoors. Admiraal plays field hockey and has been playing for eight years. During summers, Admiraal hangs out with friends and goes to the beach. This school year, she is taking German as a class which means she will then know how to speak English, Dutch,German and French. Admiraal enjoys setting goals that she can achieve.

“I want to travel, but I don’t want to live in the U.S. or the Netherlands,” Admiraal said. “I don’t plan on getting married, it’s normal not to be married in the Netherlands. My parents are committed, in love, live together but never got married.”

Snow is very common in Michigan, Admiraal isn’t looking forward to it. The Netherlands only receives snow on average 10 days a year. Netherlands is described as gorgeous within the endless canals, and tulip fields. 

“My city is really boring,” Admiraal said. “If you were to visit my hometown, I would take you to Amsterdam and we would walk around. I came here because I thought the U.S. was beautiful. I was interested in what the culture was like here.”

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started